6 November 1998. Thanks to RH

Date: Fri, 6 Nov 1998 01:27:20 -0500
To: "John Young" <jya@pipeline.com>, "Dave Farber" <farber@cis.upenn.edu>
From: Vin McLellan <vin@shore.net>
Subject: RSA Seeks Nominees for Awards & $10K Honors <FW>

	RSA Data Security <http:www.rsa.com> invites industry and political
activists, netizens, and scholars to nominate individuals who should be
honored for their "outstanding contributions" to the field of cryptography.

	RSADSI annually awards three US$10,000 prizes to innovators and
leaders in the fields of Mathematics, Public Policy, and Industry. The
final selection is by a panel of academic and industry experts, but the
nomination process is open to all. Nominations for the 1999 Awards can be
made directly at <http://www.rsa.com/rsaawards/> anytime before 12/4/98.

	"The RSA Award in Mathematics recognizes innovation and ongoing
contributions to the field of cryptography.  The Committee seeks to reward
nominees who are pioneers in their field, and whose work has applied
value." Nominees should be affiliated with universities or research labs.

	The 1998 winner of the RSA Math Award was Dr. Shafrira Goldwasser,
who was also named to the RSA Professorship at MIT last year. Prof.
Goldwasser's pioneering work in number theory, complexity, and cryptography
has also won MIT's Grace Murray Hopper Award and the first Godel Prize.

	Congressman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) -- primary sponsor of HR 696, the
Security and Freedom Thru Encryption (SAFE) Act -- was the 1998 winner of
the RSA Public Policy Award. This prize seeks to honor elected or appointed
officials, or activists associated with public interest groups, who have
made a "significant contribution" to the American policy debate about
cryptography over the previous calendar year.

	The RSA Award for Industry seeks to honor individuals or
organizations which have made outstanding contributions in commercial
applications of crypto -- "particularly those that provide clear value to
the end users" -- and demonstrated "ongoing innovation in their technology
and products."

	The 1998 winner was Netscape, source of SSL and a steady steam of
clever innovations for the denizens of the web. Taher ElGamal accepted for

	The three winners for 1999 will be announced at the 1999 RSA Data
Security Conference, which (having outgrown Nob Hill, to the regret of
many) is being held in San Jose, January 17-21. See:

      Vin McLellan + The Privacy Guild + <vin@shore.net>
  53 Nichols St., Chelsea, MA 02150 USA <617> 884-5548
                         -- <@><@> --